:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Check Out These Links:
ASPCA
National Resources Defense Council
Random Acts of Kindness Foundation
The Varieties of the Balloon Hat Experience

:Check Out My Buddies:
SNWP Nancy
SNWP Heather


:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

first week back to school...oh my!
2006-08-25 at 6:29 p.m.

Phew...the first week back to school is officially over. I'm so tired, and the kids don't even come back until Wednesday ;) Things at my new school are kinda crappy in some ways, but good in others. I got kicked out of my room, well, actually they moved all the computers back in and I get to teach in there until I get a portable in about a month-ish. It's so crowded in there, but at least it's a place to be. Our prep schdule is screwed up too, and no one wants to complain about it, which is dumb, because that's how we get taken advantage of, but then I'm not going to be the only one to complain and have everyone else deny that they care either.

Ok, enough gripping :) Everyone at the new school seems pretty nice. I've had a lot of positive comments from teachers that they are excited that I am there, which is nice :) We have 2 more days of staff development, and then kids. It's kind of nice this year since we only have 3 days with kids, then a 3 day weekend before we have to face a full week :)

My friend Rachel was in town from Minnesota with her husband this week for a conference. We met about 8 years ago when I went to Mexico to study Spanish. We all had the best time hanging out and talking, even the boys got along with each other. It was a blast...be sure to come back soon Rachel! :)

My garden is doing kind of weird. Most everything died except the herbs, which are gigantic, and the melons. On a positive note with the melons, we're apparantly growing some actual melons! THe biggest one is bigger than my fist...it's pretty exciting. :)

In the family news...my neice has started walking, she actually took her first steps a couple of weeks ago when I was lucky enough to be visiting. It was pretty great :) My sister has set a date for her wedding...in January. Too bad it couldn't be a time I had more time off, but I'll have a few days I can take I'm sure. My parents finally bought a house, and should be moving by the end of October. I'm really happy for them, but it will be weird to not come home to our house anymore.

Other than that, it's just been hot as heck here, and I'm dreaming of winter...or of living in another state ;) Hope all is well with all of you!

My Hero of the Day: my new music teacher for wanting to do a musical with me,
Quoted: We find comfort among those who agree with us, growth among those who don't. -Frank A. Clark, writer (1911- )
Listening to: a snorting doggy

last 5 entries
it's been a while... - 2007-04-01

Here comes the bride... - 2007-01-15

it's been a looooong time! - 2006-11-05

"I Am" - 2006-09-17

the first week of school - 2006-09-02



past lives // reincarnate


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

:I READ:
Yes, I do.

I'm reading now...

"A Tale of Two Cities" by Charles Dickens (gave up on the Les Mis...for now anyway)

I just finished...

"Bird by Bird" a (very good) book on writing by Anne Lamont (for my class)