:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Check Out These Links:
ASPCA
National Resources Defense Council
Random Acts of Kindness Foundation
The Varieties of the Balloon Hat Experience

:Check Out My Buddies:
SNWP Nancy
SNWP Heather


:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

"I Am"
2006-09-17 at 5:12 p.m.

Hey there my darling dears. Hope all is well with all of you. For those of you that know that Otis the dog went on a 3 mile plus wander last Thursday (stupid dog), scaring us to death in the process, he's doing fine. He's still favoring one of his hind legs a little, so he may go in for an x-ray this week, but he's back to being perky and peeing in random spots in the house, so he must be doing ok ;) Other than that, not much is new, although I did buy some new shoes yesterday, and a stellar new blue bag (with matching case for my iPod...ok, it's really a cosmetic case, but it fits the iPod perfectly OK??). B's in LA this weekend at the Inkslinger's Ball (tatoo show). I wasn't going to go with him, and go instead to my parents to help them pack, but the weather was so bad Friday night that I turned around about 10 miles out of town. We were getting really bad winds and dust storms, and it was really crappy out. I really didn't want to be that girl upside down on the median in the middle of the desert, you know? So, here I am at home. I'm in kind of a weird mood since I just spent a couple of hours writing lesson plans...now I want to go screaming through the streets;) By the by, here's a poem I wrote for class this week. My students are doing "I Am" poems, and here's the one I'm going to share with them. It's important to share your writing you know ;) Hope all is well...love ya!

I Am
by Elandriel Martin

I am a dreamer
and sometimes a doer.
I wonder if I'll ever get everything
done that I dream.
I hear the songs of my future self,
I see a place where I am happy,
I want to be that future self today.
I am forever changing
and forever standing still.

I pretend that I am important
and beautiful
I feel sometimes that it might not be so.
I touch the sky with my fingertips
I worry that even its bright eye
cannot see me.
I cry out to the soaring birds
I am wishing I am as free as they.

I understand that to write something down
makes it true.
I say my secrets on paper
in poems and stories and plays.
I dream that someone out there hears me and understands,
and is maybe entertained
or even healed.
I try to teach my students to learn who they are
I hope they can learn the wonder of being heard.
I am a writer and a teacher
of the joy that words and their stories can bring.

My Hero of the Day: Steve J. for posting the I Am format
Quoted: "We find comfort among those who agree with us, growth among those who don't." -Frank A. Clark, writer (1911- )
Listening to: shuffled music on the iPod - Katrina and the Waves right now...

last 5 entries
it's been a while... - 2007-04-01

Here comes the bride... - 2007-01-15

it's been a looooong time! - 2006-11-05

"I Am" - 2006-09-17

the first week of school - 2006-09-02



past lives // reincarnate


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

:I READ:
Yes, I do.

I'm reading now...

"A Tale of Two Cities" by Charles Dickens (gave up on the Les Mis...for now anyway)

I just finished...

"Bird by Bird" a (very good) book on writing by Anne Lamont (for my class)