:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Check Out These Links:
ASPCA
National Resources Defense Council
Random Acts of Kindness Foundation
The Varieties of the Balloon Hat Experience

:Check Out My Buddies:
SNWP Nancy
SNWP Heather


:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

A Moment in Time for Theatre
2006-02-21 at 6:41 p.m.

Writing rocks. Well, to be more specific, writing well rocks (or at least feeling like you're writing well).

My dear friend and I have been working on our play (tentatively titled "The Play") now for about a year. We get together once a week for about an hour and a half to hash out scenes, dialogue, characters, etc. It's a nice break from the ordinary teaching day. Some people take classes, some have part-time jobs, we write.

Up until last week, we had really been meeting out of a sense of duty to each other, kind of like workout buddies. But something happened last week, something important. We had started a rewrite on the beginning of the play (writing is rewriting after all, if only my students could fully grasp this). Slowly we've realized that our characters are fuller, 3-dimensional, no longer flat and plain. The scenes ring more true, the humor more real, and funnier. It was a theatrical epiphany if you will.

At any rate, now we're excited. Now we have something. Now we don't just meet out of a sense of obligation and guilt, we're meeting for fun. The process has become fun. The characters have become fun. The play has become fun. Which should hopefully translate into people having fun watching it.

By the way, this isn't another one of my plays for kids...this one's for grown-ups. Look for it to come to a theater near you (well, for most of my friends, that means a theater far from you) this summer. Hope you'll come see it. I'm beginning to think it might just rock.

My Hero of the Day: My friend Terri...for the above :)
Quoted: "Whatever you can do or dream you can do begin it. Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it." -- Goethe
Listening to: peaceful animals snoozing at my feet

last 5 entries
it's been a while... - 2007-04-01

Here comes the bride... - 2007-01-15

it's been a looooong time! - 2006-11-05

"I Am" - 2006-09-17

the first week of school - 2006-09-02



past lives // reincarnate


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

:I READ:
Yes, I do.

I'm reading now...

"A Tale of Two Cities" by Charles Dickens (gave up on the Les Mis...for now anyway)

I just finished...

"Bird by Bird" a (very good) book on writing by Anne Lamont (for my class)