:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Check Out These Links:
ASPCA
National Resources Defense Council
Random Acts of Kindness Foundation
The Varieties of the Balloon Hat Experience

:Check Out My Buddies:
SNWP Nancy
SNWP Heather


:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

spanish, scripts, field day, etc, etc, etc...
2006-05-20 at 9:37 a.m.

ah..Saturday...a day of rest, relaxation...eh, who am I kidding? It's a day of cleaning the house and gardening...at least I like the gardening part :)

This week went pretty well, and very fast. Last weekend B and I went shopping at a consignment store we sometimes pop into. I found some gorgeous plant stands (bamboo), and B bought me what is possibly the most beautiful jewelry box ever! It's a replica of a Chinese antique (thought the paper that lines the drawers in authentic). It's red lacquered with some designs on it, has a pop up mirror on top and places for my earrings, necklaces, etc...yay! It's sooo pretty!

This week at school was pretty uneventful. I finished my Spanish class, finally. Not sure it was worth the 2 credits. It was boooooring. I thought it would help me recall my spanish skills some (they've been lacking since Korea...hard to remember 1 language when you're trying to learn another), and well, it did...some. It was just so basic that I didn't really learn anything new, just refreshed my confidence it what I already knew. We did get to go to Lindo Michoacan for dinner Monday, which was delish :)

My students are all in the process of working on their final projects for my class. 1st and 2nd grades have been learning basic puppetry, and are working on a story to present next week. 3rd through 5th have been writing scripts based on their life experiences to present as skits this coming week. I'm rather disappointed in my upper grades as while I have most of the scripts from my 3rd graders, my 4th and 5th graders are decidely lacking in that area. I sort of expected it from 4th grade, this group hasn't been the hardest workers, but my 5th graders have been awesome all year. It's been really disappointing. Now I have to think of an alternate assignment so that I don't have to fail a bunch of the little buggers. It's disappointing, because, based on their past work, I totally thought they'd pick it up. It's been a succesful unit in the past...*sigh* Thank goodness there's only 11 1/2 days of school left. Then it's packing up time to move to the new one. (But I liiike my school :(

Thursday we went for a picnic at our local park (the one with the lake). I got to feed a few ducks, and we discovered they'd put in a dog park. Otis got to meet another pug (6 mo. old...awww) named Miles. Yep...Miles and Otis...heehee. Apparently they have a pug day the first Saturday of every month...that should be fun :)

Yesterday was field day...oh joy. This is where all the students get to exhibit the skills they've learned in P.E. by having races of different sorts. It went well, but I was stuck on the blacktop in 101 degree heat. I think parts of my brain actually melted. The kids had lots of fun, but they really should try to make it earlier next year. It's a district program, so hopefully my new school does it earlier.

Well, I'm off today to get my hairs cut (my dad would always ask "Which one?" if I only said hair :) and maybe hang out with the music teacher from my school. Oh by the way. It looks like our play won't be ready for production this summer...look for it in 2007 :)

Hope you all had a Happy Mothering Day (as they say in England). To all you moms and all those who mother others, you are valued and loved :)

Catch ya later!

My Hero of the Day: the guy who told me how to keep the pill bugs from eating my radishes!
Quoted: I have lost all sense of home, having moved about so much. It means to me now-onlythat place where the books are kept. Steinbeck
Listening to: snorty the snoring dog.

last 5 entries
it's been a while... - 2007-04-01

Here comes the bride... - 2007-01-15

it's been a looooong time! - 2006-11-05

"I Am" - 2006-09-17

the first week of school - 2006-09-02



past lives // reincarnate


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

:I READ:
Yes, I do.

I'm reading now...

"A Tale of Two Cities" by Charles Dickens (gave up on the Les Mis...for now anyway)

I just finished...

"Bird by Bird" a (very good) book on writing by Anne Lamont (for my class)