:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Check Out These Links:
ASPCA
National Resources Defense Council
Random Acts of Kindness Foundation
The Varieties of the Balloon Hat Experience

:Check Out My Buddies:
SNWP Nancy
SNWP Heather


:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

gardens and poetry books...blah, blah, blah
2006-05-11 at 6:10 p.m.

So, summer is finally here. At least I say it is. I call, "Summer...ack!" when we first hit above 90 degrees. Of course I know that it'll only get hotter...120 is a far cry from 90, I suppose I should enjoy the weather now. I so need to move someplace cooler...*sigh*

My garden is starting to feel the effects of the summer heat. My newest corn plant didn't reach an inch, the green pepper died (although, I'm not sure it was doing well anyway), and so did my cilantro (though I suspect cats...the catnip started looking surprisingly well soon after the cilantro took a turn for the worst). But all in all it looks pretty well. I now have:
3 corn plants
a convalescing eggplant
tomatoes
chamomile
several lettuce varieties
oregano
basil
parsley (giganto plant, hoorah!!)
peppermint
onions
arti the artichoke (who has already given 2 rather tasty artichokes...mmm)
sprouting I have:
radishes
carrots
melons
more onions

It's pretty fun overall.

Other than the garden I have been keeping busy with work and the house. I went to visit me mum this past weekend. We had a nice time going to see Ice Age 2, which was very cute. We also rented A History of Violence. My dad and I had heard it was very good, and I have a HUGE crush on Viggo Mortenson...gosh he's dreamy. It's an interesting movie, but should come with a warning...

CAUTION!! DO NOT VIEW WITH YOUR PARENTS!!

Explicit sex scenes do not a comfortable family viewing make. Good thing my parents are rather tolerant folks ;)

The poetry books I compiled came hot off the presses this week. I taught a poetry unit to my 3rd-5th graders in December. They did such amazing work I compiled it for publishing. The publishing part turned into rather a fiasco, but it's over now, thank heavens. The book looks gorgeous, and if you'd like to see a copy, I can send a few poems...or well, you can just come visit now, can't you?? ;)

Well, as an update, it's not much. But I figure, I'm paying for the gold membership, I might as well use the darn thing.

Catch ya' on the flipside, babes.

My Hero of the Day: Sherri S. Tepper, for writing another thoroughly engrossing book...don't stop, please!!
Quoted: Everything that lives is holy. --William Blake (the theme of the above book)
Listening to: blessed quiet...dang the kids were loud today, but then, I did let them play with the puppets.

last 5 entries
it's been a while... - 2007-04-01

Here comes the bride... - 2007-01-15

it's been a looooong time! - 2006-11-05

"I Am" - 2006-09-17

the first week of school - 2006-09-02



past lives // reincarnate


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

:I READ:
Yes, I do.

I'm reading now...

"A Tale of Two Cities" by Charles Dickens (gave up on the Les Mis...for now anyway)

I just finished...

"Bird by Bird" a (very good) book on writing by Anne Lamont (for my class)