:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Check Out These Links:
ASPCA
National Resources Defense Council
Random Acts of Kindness Foundation
The Varieties of the Balloon Hat Experience

:Check Out My Buddies:
SNWP Nancy
SNWP Heather


:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

Top Read of All Time??
2006-03-06 at 6:49 p.m.

So some librarian association came up with a list of the top 30 books everyone should read before they die. The top 5 are:

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Bible
The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by JRR Tolkein
1984 by George Orwell
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

What do you think about this list? I'm not so sure myself. I like to think of myself as well read, but I have to admit, while I've read (or mostly read in the Bible's case) the top 5, I've only read 3 of the following 25. Let me be honest too, I started a few, and had to put them down lest I put my head through a wall. I love the stories of the Brontes and Jane Austen, but reading them is not as exciting as many would lead you to believe. There is a nice smattering of recent material in there (include Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones--stunning, and Audrey Niffenegger's The Time Traveller's Wife, which I'd love to read if I can find the copy my friend lent me). I wonder though how one could come up with just 30 top books to read before you die. If I had to write a list (in no particular order...eee gods, the time that would take), I would include.

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by JRR Tolkein
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Anything by Dickens (My fave thus far in Hard Times)
A Sand County Almanac by Aldo Leopold
Silent Spring by Rachel Carson
Contact by Carl Sagan
Anything by Robin McKinley
Anything by Charles De Lint, but particularly his short stories.
Anything by Jane Yolen
The Blood of Others by Simone de Bouvier
Dirty Hands by Jean Paul Sartre
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
The Alienist by Caleb Carr
Eve's Tattoo by Emily Prager
Anything by Sheri S. Tepper (especially The Gate to Women's Country)
The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood
Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
Anything by Sharon Creech (espcially Walk Two Moons)
Any of the modern fairy tale collections by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
The Dragonsinger Trilogy by Anne McCafferey

Well, I could go on, maybe I'll add later...leave me a note and tell me what yours would be.

My Hero of the Day: My friend Amy who's adopting a little 3 year old girl...rock on!
Quoted: "Only the heart knows how to find what is precious." ---Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Listening to: Counting Crows - "American Girls"

last 5 entries
it's been a while... - 2007-04-01

Here comes the bride... - 2007-01-15

it's been a looooong time! - 2006-11-05

"I Am" - 2006-09-17

the first week of school - 2006-09-02



past lives // reincarnate


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

:I READ:
Yes, I do.

I'm reading now...

"A Tale of Two Cities" by Charles Dickens (gave up on the Les Mis...for now anyway)

I just finished...

"Bird by Bird" a (very good) book on writing by Anne Lamont (for my class)