:NAVIGATION:
Current
Archive

:Check Out These Links:
ASPCA
National Resources Defense Council
Random Acts of Kindness Foundation
The Varieties of the Balloon Hat Experience

:Check Out My Buddies:
SNWP Nancy
SNWP Heather


:Contact:
Email
Notes
Guestbook

:Thanks:
Design
Host

The Smothers Brothers!!
2006-02-26 at 2:58 p.m.

Growing up, our family life centered around music. We listened to music at home, in the car, on our walkmans, and sang along every chance we could get. Most of what I was raised on was Oldies and Country, with a good solid education in Folk music. Some of my fondest memories center around my mom's LP collection. I'm still amazed by the sheer number of songs I still remember from those days.

One of my favorite albums in my mom's collection was one by the Smothers Brothers. One side was folk music, the other comedy. We laughed so hard listening to their banter.

As I grew older, I learned more about the Smothers Brothers, and I learned to respect them not just for their musical talent, or their wit. Simply put, anyone who loses a contract with a TV network over standing up for their beliefs (in this case, protesting the Vietnam War), deserves a standing ovation in my book.

After years of appreciation, my mom and I finally were able to buy tickets to one of their shows. We even splurged on ones in the front row. And last night was the night, and what a night it was. I haven't laughed so hard since I don't know when. They haven't lost a step in over 40 years. (It's a shame other comedians can't figure out that you can be hilarious without being vulgar). We were even graced by the presence of the Yo-Yo Man himself (otherwise known as Tommy Smothers). It was a blast.

At the end of the show, the entire crowd was on their feet. This wasn't one of those times where everyone's looking around...should we stand...what if I'm the only one? As soon as they said goodnight, everyone jumped to their feet. I found myself with an overwhelming urge to thank them for the many years of joy and entertainment.

"Thank You!!" I shouted.

And Tommy Smothers smiled.

At me.

Thanks guys :)

My Hero of the Day: My mom - for going with me to the show!
Quoted: Dream that impossible dream. Work for what you believe in. - The Smothers Brothers
Listening to: the laundry in the spin cycle

last 5 entries
it's been a while... - 2007-04-01

Here comes the bride... - 2007-01-15

it's been a looooong time! - 2006-11-05

"I Am" - 2006-09-17

the first week of school - 2006-09-02



past lives // reincarnate


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

:I READ:
Yes, I do.

I'm reading now...

"A Tale of Two Cities" by Charles Dickens (gave up on the Les Mis...for now anyway)

I just finished...

"Bird by Bird" a (very good) book on writing by Anne Lamont (for my class)